10 College Tips:

I am currently finishing up my freshman year of college at Cedarville University. I have about three weeks left woop woop!!!! All of these tips have worked for me so I thought that I’d share them!! Pick and choose what you’d like to use πŸ˜‰

1: Find a place to study where you know you will be productive! Sometimes when I choose to study back at my dorm room, I won’t get things done. I love to go to the Library because it’s quiet and I am close to printers and books. I will even go outside if it’s nice out! As long as you are not distracted or too comfortable πŸ˜‰

2: Use a planner and write down all of your homework and tests. I am always using my planner (I don’t think I could go a day without it). All of my classes have an online calendar so all I do is write down in my planner each class homework activity or test on the day before it’s due! That way I won’t forget when something is due! I always check on Sunday and see what is planned for my week.

3: Pick a day to do laundry and towels (boring, I know). This is something that is huge for me because if I don’t pick a specific day, I won’t ever get my laundry done. I always pick Monday or Wednesday (depending on how much laundry and towels I have to do).

4: Keep your dorm organized. I wasn’t great at keeping my dorm organized the first semester but once I started keeping things neat and tidy the second semester, I actually was less stressed. Having a tiny room with another person living in it is difficult so the cleaner it is, the less stressed you will feel (you will also be able to find everything).

5: Find your way to study effectively. If you aren’t studying effectively, then you won’t do well on the test. So, figure out the best way to study (for you) and then you will do SO much better on the exams and tests.

6: Decorate your dorm room so that you are comfortable. Don’t get me wrong, I too looked up pinterest dorm room ideas. The best way to decorate your room is to make you feel comfortable or at home. I have a bunch of artwork on my walls because seeing art makes me feel at home and comfortable! Simple as that.

7: Don’t bring ALL your clothes. I live about 45 minutes away from my college, so I would go home a lot and switch out my clothes for each season. Your closet is super small and you don’t want to be overwhelmed with it either. You won’t wear them all either! If you live farther away, try and find bins to put underneath your bed so that you don’t have every clothing item hanging in your closet.

8: Work out!! Being healthy in college is a must. I was a student athlete so I didn’t have to go to the gym on my own, but doing this will make you feel more healthy and energized!! You will actually study better if you’re healthy too!

9: Keep track of your money. Guys, this is a huge one for me. I loveeeeeee shopping and getting people gifts so all I want to do is buy buy buy. BUT I CAN’T. So I make sure that I limit myself and watch my money. If you check your bank account a lot, it will be easier to say no to things you don’t need. And don’t spend all of your money on coffee!!!!!! (@ me)

10: Last but not least, make sure you sleep a healthy amount when it comes to finals week! Not sleeping enough, or even sleeping too much,Β can damage your health and will make your brain tired and exhausted. Finals week is already hard so don’t make it harder!!

***BONUS TIP: Be you. College is all about finding whatever fits you. It is your time to figure out your life! Have fun and hang with great friends! Go out of your comfort zone! Don’t worry about whatever anyone else is doing πŸ˜‰

I hope you found this enjoyable and useful! Subscribe to this page and you’ll be notified every time I post a new blog!! I will also be doing some videos coming up soon! Thanks so much for reading! xoxo

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Karla says:

    amazing tips!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sydneyraeweb says:

      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bitsofjenn says:

    I want to help reinforce 7,9, and being yourself!!!
    Great post and I wish all the incoming freshman the best of luck and realize that college is not as scary once you make it your second home!
    Check out my blog for more college tips: https://bitsofjenn.com/
    Thanks β™‘

    Like

Leave a Reply

