Anger

Anger: a strong feeling of annoyance, displeasure, or hostility.

James 1:19-20 says, “My dear brothers and sisters, take not of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce righteousness that God desires.”

Think of the circumstances that made you become angry at some point. Did someone say something to you that you didn’t like or agree with? Did you do something that you didn’t mean to do or didn’t want to? Did you get news that you didn’t want to hear? Did your plans get canceled? Did someone push your buttons? Think of the deep reason that made you become angry.

Maybe you haven’t been angry recently but I am positive that everyone (at one time or another) has been filled with annoyance or displeasure or hostility. (If you don’t think you have, then ask your mom or dad about how you acted when you were two years old)

Sadly, the world sometimes applauds anger.

But what do you get out of being angry?

Example: Many athletes that experience injuries get angry. A lot of the time, they get angry at God. Sadly, I have been angry at God… maybe even multiple times. I got angry at the goalie that injured me. I got angry at myself for not seeing the goalie come at me. I got angry at God for taking away the thing that I loved and adored. But what I really should have been loving and adoring was actually God himself.

Example: ROAD RAGE. Many people get angry at other people. Now, let me state that I do have road rage… especially by myself (admit it, you do too). But even if you are alone… you still should be slow to anger.

What do you get about being slow to anger?

Let me tell ya, a lot of our actions come from the heart. If I want to show my family that I love them, I show them love out of my actions. If I want to get good grades, I study a lot and work hard. So if you become angry, it comes from the heart just like the good actions that you do. You have to realize that you should glorify God in everything that you do. Doing things out of anger obviously doesn’t glorify Him. But thinking them doesn’t either because God can see what’s in your heart. So how can you fix your heart?

Prayer is pretty crazy. When you have a personal and intimate relationship with God, your heart will change. Having this relationship is going to fill your heart immensely. If you have tried to fill your heart with other things, you start to feel alone and not fulfilled. Only God and his grace and mercy can fulfill your heart. So pray for a kind and gentle heart. Pray for God to fill your heart with His love and grace. You won’t be perfect. But God is.

Proverbs 29:11 says, “Fools give full vent to their rage, but the wise bring calm in the end.”

Be the wise. Bring the calm in the end.

 

 

Leave a Reply

